

EUROPEAN MONETARY INSTITUTE

CONFIDENTIAL

EXTRAXT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE 30TH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN MONETARY INSTITUTE

HELD IN FRANKFURT ON TUESDAY, 3 DECEMBER 1996

1. Approval of the designs for the euro banknotes

Taking into the account the advice of an independent jury, the results obtained from an EU-wide public opinion survey, as well as technical comments provided by the Banknote Working Group, the *Council* chose the design of the euro banknote series, which had been submitted anonymously and given the number T382 by the EMI's notary. The *Council* agreed to present the design, as well as the name of the designer¹, first to the Heads of State or of Government at the European Council session in Dublin on Friday, 13 December 1996 and thereafter at two simultaneous press conferences in Dublin and Frankfurt on Friday, 13 December 1996, conducted by the President and Mr. Duisenberg, respectively. The cost of the press conferences would be covered by a virement of unused funds in the budget.

The *Council* also agreed to issue a press release at the end of the Council meeting announcing its decision and the arrangements for the presentation of the designs to the Heads of State and of Government and the media.

••••

¹ The name of the winning designer (Robert Kalina, Austria) was revealed by the EMI's notary to the President on Thursday, 12 December 1996. Copies of the notarial deeds are held in the EMI's Archives.

30TH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE EMI

3 December 1996

President	Mr. Lamfalussy
Banque Nationale de Belgique	Mr. Verplaetse Mr. Rey Mr. van der Haegen
Danmarks Nationalbank	Mrs. Andersen Mr. Thomsen Mr. Hansen
Deutsche Bundesbank	Mr. Tietmeyer Mr. Schieber Mr. Goos
Bank of Greece	Mr. Papademos Mr. Thomopoulos Mr. Moschos
Banco de España	Mr. Rojo Mr. Linde Mr. Durán
Banque de France	Mr. Trichet Mr. Hannoun Mr. Patat
Central Bank of Ireland	Mr. O'Connell Mr. McGowan Mr. Reynolds
Banca d'Italia	Mr. Fazio Mr. Santini
Institut Monétaire Luxembourgeois	Mr. Jaans Mr. Guill
De Nederlandsche Bank	Mr. Duisenberg Mr. Wellink Mr. Hoogduin

(cont/...)

CONFIDENTIAL

Oesterreichische Nationalbank	Mr. Liebscher Mr. Lachs Mr. Duchatczek
Banco de Portugal	Mr. de Sousa Mr. Cunha Mr. de Matos
Suomen Pankki	Mrs. Hämäläinen Mr. Vanhala Mr. Söderlund
Sveriges Riksbank	Mr. Bäckström Mr. Heikensten Ms. Holmberg
Bank of England	Mr. George Mr. Townend Mr. Collins
European Commission	Mr. Carré
EU Council	Mr. Ploch
Chairpersons of Sub-Committees/Working Groups	Ms. Caparello Mr. Hartmann Mr. Jarvis Mr. Saccomanni
European Monetary Institute	Mr. Raymond ² Mr. Scheller Mr. Hogeweg Mr. Schlüter Mr. Etherington Mr. Stone

² Chairman of the Committee of Alternates.